Weekly Recap (Jan 9th- 15th)

This week saw the start of a new semester, as well as the start of training season! The first race on the docket is the Achilles 5k in March. I’ll be using the Nike 5k and Nike Half Marathon training plans as I’ve had success using Nike for my previous races. My plan is to train for that until the end of the month, and then switch over to training for the Mississauga Marathon (half marathon distance). The 5k serves as a easy training period in which the distances are shorter, but will still work out the kinks from all my time not training for something. –Side note: my weeks start on Monday and end on Sunday.

Monday

Interval Workout on the treadmill – 1.5mi, moving time: 17mins, avg pace: 10:48/mi

Tuesday

 Rest Day – I have class literally all day, so I didn’t have time to do much of anything

Wednesday

 My friend talked me into swapping my 3mi run for a leg day…how could I turn that down?

-5min warm-up

-Squats (3 sets x 10 reps) @ 90lbs (not including the bar) – 30 sec rest in between sets

-Standing Calf Raises – (3 sets x 15 reps) @ 150lbs – 30 sec rest in between sets

-Seated Leg Press – (3 sets x 10 reps) @ 140lbs – 30 sec rest in between sets

-stretch/roll

Totally forgot how much you get pushed sometimes when you workout with other people haha.

Thursday

 2mi Run – moving time: 20:56, avg pace: 10:28/mi – this run felt a little tricky to me for the simple fact that I kept having to tell myself to slow down! It was only supposed to be a recovery run, and I felt like I was getting carried away at points

weekly-recap-jan-9th-15th

Friday & Saturday

Accidental rest days…studying got the best of me

 

I have less on my plate this week at school, so I’m hoping that that will help in terms of being able to get out there.

 

-Running Fast, Lifting Heavy

 

 

Leave a comment